Home Page

School Governing Body

The school governing body divides it's work between three committees that each meet every half term. All governors can be contacted through the school office.


The Whole Governing Body

All governors meet together to monitor the implementation of school policies, to make strategic decisions about the work of the school and to ratify the work of the sub-committees.

The Chair of the Governing Body is David Higlett.

The Vice Chair of the Governing Body is Robbie Turkington.


The Resources Sub-Committee

This sub-committee meets to monitor the financial decisions made within school. It also sets and monitors policies to do with the employment of staff. Their final responsibility is to monitor the management and development of the school buildings and grounds.

This sub-committee is chaired by Debbie Wyatt.


The Teaching and Learning Sub-Committee

This sub-committee ensures that policies relating to the curriculum are being implemented effectively in school. They also monitor the effectiveness of teaching and learning.

This sub-committee is chaired by Helen Aldred.

Constitution of the Governing Body

Each member of the governing body represents a particular part of the school community. Each governor is nominated or elected by the relevant part of the school community. Each governor serves a term of four years from their election/nomination.


Governor                                                        Date of                      Sub-committee

                                                                       appointment              membership

Headteacher Governor

Sean Taylor                                                   09/2015                     Resources


Local Authority Governor

David Higlett                                                  10/2015                     Teaching and Learning


Parent Governors

Debbie Wyatt                                                  11/2016                    Resources

Liz Smith                                                         06/2018                    Teaching and Learning

Simon Rose                                                    02/2019                    Resources

Emma Wareham                                             01/2016                    Resources


Staff Governor

Stephanie Crispin (Teacher in school)            02/2019                    Teaching and Learning


The Governing Body can choose to co-opt additional governors with particular skills or experience

Co-opted Governors

Kathryn Lugg (School Business Manager)      10/2015                   Resources


Robbie Turkington                                            0/2015                    Resources

Cathy Baggott  (SENCO in school)                 10/2015                    Teaching and Learning

Andrew Tindall (Parent)                                    10/2015                   Resources

Marie Spencer (Teacher in school)                  10/2015                    Resources


The Governing body can also appoint associate governors with relevant skills or experience. These governors can vote on decisions in sub-committees but not as part of the whole governing body

Jacqueline Davis (Teacher in school)             10/2015                  Teaching and Learning

Helen Aldred (Deputy Headteacher)               01/2016                  Teaching and Learning

Paul Candy (Teacher in school)                      09/2018                   Teaching and Learning


Copies of the meeting minutes can be found in our Governor Zone via the below link: